Skip to content

Digital Tools For a Simpler Life

16 April, 2010

Photo by Johan Larsson

Can you imagine life before the advent of computers or cell phones?

Don’t worry- I can’t either. Before there were calendars and to-do lists on every device that you own, how did you ever remember things? Yeah, yeah, yeah- good old paper and pencil (I have those too!), but how did they survive without alarms going off on computers and cell phones. While all these gadgets are amazingly helpful, does it ever make you feel completely overscheduled? It’s never good when you have to schedule time to unplug and relax.

Here are a few of my favorite digital tools that I just can’t live without.

1. My Mac

My entire life is on my Mac: all my photos, my music, my calendars, my e-mail, the blogs I read instead of subscribing to magazines, my to-do list. It’s the gateway to all things that keep me sane. Plus, I just really love my Mac…I never have to do anything to it to make it run “better.” It’s worth the price tag.

2. My Blackberry

It is synced to my computer and therefore has by lists and calendars. I also don’t have an mp3 player at the moment, so I have a TON of music on it. I also wouldn’t be able to keep up with all of the feeds I have flooding my inbox. When I have a spare moment, I can whip out my phone and catch up on some reading.

3. Evernote

I love Evernote. Not sure why not everyone uses it. This is where I keep all of my recipes, notes to myself, articles from the Internet, ideas…I love it. Plus, there’s an app for my Blackberry.

4. Pear Budget

I use Pear Budget for (duh!) my budget. I love how simple it is, and that it is run by real people (not a massive company) and not expensive. Thanks Tsh at Simple Mom for singing its praises and giving all of us this tool.

5. iPhoto/Picasa

I know- it’s ridiculous to use two. But I love that Picasa is free and that it does so much. Actually, I only really use it for the collage feature, and iPhoto is for everything else.

6. iCal and Mail for Mac

Gmail is my e-mail client, but I use Mail and iCal on my computer. I love how everything syncs to my Gmail account. I’m never without anything, not matter where I am. Isn’t technology fabulous? I have separate calendars on iCal for my kids, my husband and I, menu planning, and blog stuff. Not only is it

7. Pandora Radio

This is for background noise. I have discovered a lot of new music through this site that I absolutely love. All you have to do is enter a song or an artist, and the site customizes a radio station based upon the song or band. I’m listening now.

8. Daily Lit

Every morning, another installment of a book is delivered to my inbox. AND IT’S FREE. Right now I’m reading D.H. Lawrence, who knows what I’ll be reading next. It’s a great way to read, especially the classics. You can read as much or as little as you want.

What digital tools do you use that makes your life easier/better?

Bookmark and Share

One Comment leave one →
  1. 16 April, 2010 6:37 am

    Wow thats so great to read lol…This world we are now is a ”global village”

Leave a Reply

